Home Random Page



About myself and my family

About Myself

From the very start I should say that it is not an easy thing to speak about myself as it is hard to have a look at yourself from aside, but at the same time who knows you better than you yourself do?

I am a girl of sixteen. When I look at myself in the mirror I see a blond girl with short straight hair, dark eyes and a slender figure. As to my appearance I'm rather tall and slim. I have never thought I'm a beauty, I wish I were more beautiful. I think that I'm even tempered, rather reserved, calm and modest. But sometimes I can lose my temper and become either angry or sad. I like staying alone and sometimes I retreat into my shell. But at the same time I like my friends, I like to laugh and joke. I have got a sense of humour. It means I understand humour and appreciate it.

There are many things in our life I like and some I dislike. I like when everything is OK. Being happy is one way of being wise. I like to study because knowledge is useful sometimes. I'm fond of reading as it gives not only knowledge, but also wonderful moments of joy and pleasure. I am neither short nor tall, so I like to wear high-heeled shoes, trousers or jeans.

I was born on the 25th of April 1985 in the town of Molodechno where I live now together with my parents and my younger sister. My early years, which I remember badly, were typical of a child living in a town. I was born into a family of a teacher and a doctor. I was sent to a kindergarten at the age of three as both my parents were working. As all the children of Belarus I went to school at the age of six. Here I should say that it was my lucky chance to study for 11 years at the school of fine arts in the town of Molodechno. It turned out to be the best school in our town. There I got a proper training in such subjects as English, Russian and Belarusian, literature and world culture. I usually did a lot of home preparation for them and I liked everything I was doing in them. I really tried hard in them. But despite my efforts I was not good at Math.

School for me was not only lessons and learning, I had a lot of friends there. We organized extra class activities such as parties and other social activities. I actively participated in most of them.

I am sociable, so I have got a lot of friends among my schoolmates. As for me, I appreciate people's honesty, kindness, sense of justice and intelligence. I don't like when people are rude and aggressive.

I am stubborn at times. But to my mind being persistent is not always a bad thing. That means if I have an aim I never leave things half done. At times I feel dissatisfied with myself, especially when I fail to do something or can't do things the way they should be done. At the same time I think I am hard-working and diligent. My greatest problem at school was talking in front of the class. I always blushed.

Very soon I'll pass my final exams at school and after a farewell party at the end of June I'll say goodbye to my teachers who are very well-educated people with broad outlook and deep knowledge of the subjects. They encouraged me in my desire of choosing my future career. School meant a lot to me and it wasn't just learning and studying. I made good friends there and met many interesting people. I faced a new life without school with a mixed feeling of sadness and joy.

I asked myself a lot of times what I wanted to be when I left school. A few years ago it was difficult to give a definite answer. As years passed I changed my mind several times. But it was only in my last year at school that I finally made up my mind what profession I would most like to have in the future. I realized that my strongest desire was to continue specializing in humanities and learn foreign languages in particular. I hope my dream will come true. If I fail in my exams I'll try to enter the University again.

And now a few words about my inclinations. I haven't got any special hobby, like collecting something, but I'm fond of reading books. They give me more knowledge of their people's lives and feelings and broaden my outlook. In my opinion, books are a source of emotional inspiration and romantic feeling. Besides, books help me to continue my own education. The time spent on a good book is never wasted. Reading is a rewarding pastime.

And of course I like music! I'm fond of music of the 60-s, like the Beatles, the Rolling Stones and Elvis Presley. The songs of the Beatles give me a lot of delight and pleasure. Besides, I am a great theatregoer. Whenever I have some time to spare, I go to the theatre. I'm not keen on television.

Sometimes I play different sport games for health and pleasure. I usually play such games as volleyball, basketball, tennis, and sometimes football.

And finally, the things I hope to achieve in my life are: to have a very successful career, so this year after finishing school I will try to enter the University, to build the house of my dreams and to find someone in my life to share all that with.

About myself and my family


Let me introduce myself. I am Alina Ivanova. I am seventeen years old. I was born on May 14, 1987 in Moscow, so I have been living in Moscow since my childhood. I descend from the family of teachers. There are five of us. I am a pupil of the eleventh form of a secondary school. I'm a school-leaver (this year and that's why it is very important for me to make the right choice of profession. I want to enter the Foreign Languages Department of the Pedagogical University. My parents and teachers at school advise me to become a teacher firstly to continue our family occupation, secondly because I have always given my preference to the humanities, especially English.
It is my favorite subject at school and I do well in it without any effort. I do not only do my best at school, I take a preparatory course at the Pedagogical University.
I like all the subjects taught at the preparatory course but most of all I like the subjects of my future specialty.
When I'm free I enjoy doing different things with my friends and alone. I am fond of reading interesting books. Among my favorite writers are Charles Dickens and Mark Twain. I like sport very much. I go in for basketball and always take part in sports competitions at our school.
Now let me introduce my family. We are a family of five. I think we are a large and friendly family.
I'd like to start with my parents. I have got a father and a mother. Their names are Sergey Dmytrievych and Ekateryna Petrovna. My parents have been married for twenty-five years. This year we are celebrating their silver wedding. They have much in common, but they have different interests, hobbies, points of view on sports and music. For example, my father is fond of sports and my mother doesn't go in for sport at all. She is a great home-sitter. She keeps house and takes care of her family. She is very good at cooking and she is clever with her hands.
But my parents have the same opinion about the education and upbringing of their children. They are good specialists as well. Both of them are teachers.
My father is a director of a secondary school. He likes his profession greatly though I understand that it is a difficult job. He is always busy and he works overtime very often.
My mother is a teacher of English. After graduating from the Pedagogical Institute she began working at school. She knows her subject perfectly and tries to develop in her pupils the desire to know the foreign language as well as their native one, to be cultured persons. My mother is a nice woman with brown hair and green eyes. She is forty-three but looks much younger. She is always elegant and smart. We usually help our mother about the house.
Now I'm going to tell you a couple of words about other members of our family.
Besides me, my parents have got one more child. She is my sister. Her name is Natalya. She is older than I. She is twenty-two. She is married and has a family of her own. She is a postgraduate of Moscow State Linguistic University. She is a very slim and pretty woman.
Her husband is a scientist. They have got a son, my nephew. All of us like him greatly, he is only two years old, a lovely boy with golden hair and blue eyes and a spirit that is always bright and happy.
We also have many relatives. My aunts, uncles and cousins live far from us, in different cities of Russia. On holidays they come to visit us and we have a very good time together.
So we are a happy family and are getting on all right.

Date: 2015-12-17; view: 2347

<== previous page | next page ==>
Read and translate the text. | Interview with a 17-year-old son David
doclecture.net - lectures - 2014-2024 year. Copyright infringement or personal data (0.008 sec.)