Home Random Page



The land and the people

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

The British Monarchy Today

The United Kingdom is a constitutional monarchy. This means that it has a monarch (a king or a queen) as its Head of State. The monarch reigns with the support of Parliament. The powers of the monarch are not defined precisely. Everything today is done in the Queen's name. It is her government, her armed forces, her law courts and so on. She appoints all the Ministers, including the Prime Minister. Everything is done, however, on the advice of the elected Government, and the monarch takes no part in the decision-making process.

Once the British Empire included a large number of countries all over the world ruled by Britain, The process of decolonization began in 1947 with the Independence of India, Pakistan and Ceylon. Now, apart from Hong Kong and a few small islands, there is no longer an empire. But the British ruling classes tried not to lose influence over the former colonies of the British Empire. An association of former members of the British Empire and Britain was founded in 1949. It is called the Commonwealth. It includes many countries such as Ireland, Myanma, the Sudan, Canada, Australia, New Zealand and others. The Queen of Great Britain is also the Head of the Commonwealth, and so the Queen of Canada, Australia, New Zealand...

The Queen is very rich as are other members of the royal family. In addition, the government pays for her expenses as Head of State, for a royal yacht, train and aircraft as well as for the upkeep of several palaces. The Queen's image appears on stamps, notes and coins.

Parliament consists of two chambers known as the House of Commons and the House of Lords. Parliament and the monarch have different roles in the government of the country, and they only meet together on symbolic occasions such as the coronation of a new monarch or the opening of Parliament. In reality, the House of Commons is the only one of the three which has true power. It is here that new bills are introduced and debated. If the majority of the members are in favour of a bill it goes to the House of Lords to be debated and finally to the monarch to be signed. Only then it becomes law. Although a bill must be supported by all three bodies, the House of Lords only has limited powers, and the monarch has not refused to sign one since the modern political system began over 200 years ago.


The land and the people

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (the UK) occupies most of the territory of the British Isles. It consists of four main parts which are: England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. Their capitals are London, Edinburgh, Cardiff and Belfast.

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland is the official name of the state which is sometimes referred to as Great Britain or Britain (after its major isle), England (after its major historic part) or the British Isles.

The UK is an island state: it is composed of some 5,500 islands, large and small. The two main islands are Great Britain (in which are England, Wales and Scotland) to the east and Ireland (in which are Northern Ireland and the independent Irish Republic) to the west. They are separated by the Irish Sea.

The UK is one of the world's smaller countries (it is twice smaller than France or Spain), with an area of some 244,100 square kilometres. The UK is situated off the west coast of Europe between the Atlantic Ocean on the northwest and the North Sea on the east and is separated from the European continent by the English Channel (or La Manche) and the Strait of Dover (or Pas de Calais).

The population of the United Kingdom is nearly 59 million people. There are seventeen other countries in the world with more people.

English is not the only language which people use in the UK. English is the official language. But some people speak Gaelic in western Scotland, Welsh in parts of northern and central Wales.

The flag of the United Kingdom, known as the Union Jack, is made up of three crosses. The upright red cross is the cross of St. George, the patron saint of England. The white diagonal cross is the cross of St. Andrew, the patron saint of Scotland. The red diagonal cross is the cross of St. Patrick, the patron saint of Ireland.


Task 1. Answer the following questions:

1) Who is the Head of State in the UK?

2) What is the Commonwealth?

3) What are the powers of the monarch in the UK?

4) When did the decolonization process and the collapse of the British Empire begin?

5) What chambers does the Parliament consist of?

6) Does the Queen have true power in the UK?

7) Is the Queen of the UK also the Queen of some other countries?

8) Who pays the Queens expenses as Head of State?

9) What is the official name of the UK?

10) What are the main parts of the UK and their capitals?

11) What is the name of the British flag?

12) What is the population of the UK?

13) How many islands are there in the UK?

14) Do they speak only English in the UK?

15) What is the area of the UK?

16) Is Great Britain a large or a small country in area and in population?


Task 2. Unscramble the words below (rearrange the letters to form valid words):

1) euenq ____________

2) rotcnuy _________________

3) aoonupiplt ____________________

4) lgaf ________

5) emaolctmhonw ___________________

6) dlnegan _______________

7) snliad ___________

8) nptilramae __________________

9) aryol __________

10) taapcil ___________

Date: 2016-03-03; view: 1047

<== previous page | next page ==>
The Teachers Training Institute and Students Life | Produce (v) , . What does this plant produce? The policeman asked him to produce his driving license.
doclecture.net - lectures - 2014-2024 year. Copyright infringement or personal data (0.007 sec.)