Home Random Page



University level studies

3.2.1. University level first stage: Associate’s Degree, Bachelor’s Degree (undergraduate degrees).

The Associate degree is the first academic or professional degree that can be awarded in U.S. postsecondary education. Holders of this degree may apply to enter higher degree programmes at the Bachelor’s level, but are not qualified to apply directly for advanced (graduate) studies programmes. Programmes of study for this degree are usually designed to take 2 years of full-time study, but some take longer to complete. Those who pursue this degree on a part-time basis also take longer than 2 years to complete their studies.

Types of associate’s degrees are: Associate of Arts (AA); Associate of Science (AS).

The Bachelor’s degree is the second academic degree that can be awarded in U.S. postsecondary education, and is one of two undergraduate (first) degrees that qualify a student to apply to programmes of advanced (graduate) study (the other such degree is the first-professional degree). Programmes of study for this degree are designed to take between 4 and 5 years, depending on the field of study. Honours programmes are offered by many institutions that award the Bachelor’s degree. (These generally require the completion of additional requirements such as preparation of an undergraduate thesis, honours paper or project, advanced coursework, or special examinations). This allows to indicate the level of academic distinction with which an academic degree was earned – cum laude (“with honor”), magna cum laude (“with great honor”), summa cum laude (“with highest honor”)*. The honor is typically indicated on the diploma.

Most students earn one of two types of Bachelor’s degrees: Bachelor of Arts (BA); Bachelor of Science (BS).

Date: 2014-12-29; view: 651

<== previous page | next page ==>
Small Liberal Arts Colleges | University level third stage
doclecture.net - lectures - 2014-2018 year. Copyright infringement or personal data (0.001 sec.)